c.32) authorized the Parliament of Canada to make laws in relation to old age pensions in Canada subject to the proviso that no such law should affect the operation of any provincial laws in relation to old age pensions. By the BNA Act, 1964, this amendment was extended to permit the payment of supplementary benefits, including survivors' and disability benefits irrespective of age, under a contributory pension plan.

Duration and sessions of Parliaments. The length and sessions of the first to the twelfth Parliaments, covering the period from Confederation to 1917, are given in the 1940 Canada Year Book, p. 46; of the thirteenth to the seventeenth Parliaments in the 1945 edition, p. 53; of the eighteenth and nineteenth Parliaments in the 1957-58 edition, p. 46; of the twentieth to the twenty-third Parliaments in the 1965 edition, p. 65; and of the twenty-fourth to the twenty-eighth Parliaments in this edition, Table 4.1.

The Senate. The Senate has grown from an original membership of 72 at Confederation, through the addition of members to represent new provinces and the general increase in population to a total of 102 members; the latest change in representation was made when Newfoundland entered Confederation in 1949. The growth of representation in the Senate is

summarized by province in Table 4.2.

Senators are appointed by the Governor General by instrument under the Great Seal of Canada. By constitutional usage the actual power of nominating senators resides in the Prime Minister whose advice the Governor General accepts in this regard. Until the passage of "An Act to make provision for the retirement of members of the Senate" (SC 1965, c.4), assented to on June 2, 1965, senators were appointed for life; that Act set 75 years as the age at which any person appointed to the Senate after the coming into force of the Bill would cease to hold his place in the Senate.

In each of the four main areas of Canada (Ontario, Quebec, Atlantic Provinces and Western Provinces) except Quebec, senators represent the whole of the province for which they are appointed; in Quebec, one senator is appointed for each of the 24 electoral divisions of what was formerly Lower Canada. The deliberations of the Senate are presided over by a Speaker appointed by the Governor in Council (in effect by the government) and government

business in the Senate is sponsored by the Government Leader in the Senate.

The powers of the Senate, in all respects except one, are co-extensive with those of the House of Commons. The one exception is that under the Canadian Constitution all "money Bills", i.e. Bills to impose taxes or appropriate public moneys, must originate in the House of Commons. The concurrence of the Senate is necessary before any piece of legislation, public or private, can become law. Government Bills, other than money Bills, may be introduced in either House. A substantial percentage of these are now introduced in the Senate where they may be freely discussed and amended and the House of Commons thus given the benefit of their prior scrutiny by the Senate.

The Senate also retains its traditional role in respect of legislation originating in the House of Commons, namely, to take a "sober second look" at such legislation and amend it if necessary; such amendments are often concurred in by the House of Commons. If representatives of the two Houses cannot resolve disagreements arising from Senate

amendments, the legislation cannot be further considered.

The Senate provides a national forum for the discussion of public issues and the airing of grievances from any part of Canada. Through its own committees and its participation in joint committees of both Houses the Senate is particularly active in making studies in depth on matters of public concern.

As at December 31, 1972 the following were members of the Senate:

Speaker, Hon. Muriel McQueen Fergusson Leader of the Government, Hon. Paul Martin Leader of the Opposition, Hon. Jacques Flynn

Clerk of the Senate and Clerk of the Parliaments, Robert Fortier

Newfoundland Michael G. Basha Eric Cook Chesley William Carter James Duggan William John Petten Frederick William Rowe Prince Edward Island Florence Elsie Inman Orville Howard Phillips Thomas Joseph Kickham

M. Lorne Bonnell